Mixed Media Art

Hi there,

Back to work today – after a lovely, long Bank holiday weekend…grumble, grumble…!

I have taken a few pictures of some art I made back in September-November 2011, that I thought you might like to see.

Aperture - Oct. 2011 (2) “Aperture” Oct. 2011

This mixed-media piece was completed in October, 2011. It comprises of a drypoint print, pencil, acrylic paint, watercolour paint, stencilling and ink.

I generally work in mixed media, as – being the magpie that I am, I find it increasingly difficult when making a piece not to think, “Ooh! I’ve saved that little sketch/scrap of fabric/textured paper that would work perfectly in this piece…

In Ochre I - Sept. 2011 “In Ochre I” – Sept. 2011 

These are unfortunately framed behind glass – and therefore I think a little of the detail is missed out – also, my camera is not the best at picking-up the finer lines…

And How - Nov. 2011 “And How” – Nov. 2011

This piece incorporates felted fabric, Acrylic & Watercolour paints, pen, watercolour pencils, graphite and ink. It was originally much larger than this – but the nice thing about working in semi-abstract mixed media is that sometimes smaller areas grab your attention, and work better on their own. So I cut it up and make three smaller works!

Guide - November. 2011 “Guide” – November. 2011

This piece is made using Acrylic & Watercolour paints, pen, pencil and ink.

As you may have noticed – Birds are a rather familiar and  recurring motif in my work!

I tried to resist…as I see them pop up in LOTS of art…but I can’t really help it. Despite my best efforts to remain “Original” they keep coming back…(Note also the title of my blog..?! 😉 But more on that another time…) I have moved around a lot in my life – and I kind of identify with them for that reason, I think.

Well, that’s all for now – folks.

Love,

Sarah.x

Leave a Reply

